Courtney Gears

Finally I finished this character. I know, it absolutely doesn’t look like it, but especially rigging was way harder than it seems. And well, it took me a lot of time, but at this point I’m not even surprised anymore :V It would be so great to have enough time to work on personal projects full-time. Maybe one day, heh. Sometimes I wonder why I’m making fully functional rigs for my characters, when other people upload painted sculpts from Zbrush and that’s the end of the project. But I don’t know, for me it just doesn’t feel like finished thing if it’s not fully functional character.

Now when i look at this model when it’s finished i feel a bit unsatisfied. There is much, much more details here than meets the eye. Some of them are visible in close-ups but not in main renders. Some of them are not visible anywhere at all. The problem is, that I’m not very good at lighting. I’m always jealous of other people’s super-detailed models I see e.g. on ArtStation. And the worst thing is that every time I finish working on a character, I find some new references, some new ideas and see how obviously some things could have been designed so much better. But instead of fixing my model endlessly, I think it’s better to just move on to another project and do a little bit better next time.

Well, character is finished, but I still have some more plans for this model. For those who do not recognize the her - it’s Courtney Gears from Ratchet & Clank series. In original version, she appears in a really catchy music video. I’m considering re-creating this video. But I’m not sure yet. We’ll see. As for now, I’m just enjoying this part of the work, when I can just sit and upload finished renders to the internet. Hope you like it. Cheers.

W.I.P. thread: Courtney Gears
DeviantArt: https://www.deviantart.com/mortusk/art/Courtney-Gears-955113659
ArtStation: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/qee58L
Behance: https://www.behance.net/gallery/167064983/Courtney-Gears

58 Likes