Create Towers, Characters and some Questions

Hey,

i want to create a TD Game and the only problem is, that i have no art skills, but in Programming i already have a huge knowledge, because i am a developer.
I don’t want to develope this game from scratch, but i’ve decided to use Unity for that.

So i’ve started using Blender two weeks ago and i’ve already watched a huge amount of tutorials and the techniques that are used, like uv mapping, rigging and so on but i have some problems.

Like i said i want to create a Tower Defense Game and so i started creating some towers, but now i have a problem with that. I want to create a tower with a round base and a sphere on it and this base (it’s just a small circle is than used to move arround. But the problem is how can i put now a gun into this sphere or how can i cut a hole in the Sphere?
The turret should look like a Turret that i found in a course that can be found via google: unity tower defense course
(Auto Turret in the Video)
There is this Auto Turret and i want it to look like that or this Battleship Canons, so how can i do that? I also want the barrels to be moveable.

I’ve also finished some Towers but that is currently a huge problem, that i have.

I’ve also tried to start Character modelling but i don’t get it started there well. Which would be the best way to start character Modelling? I want to create humans, knights and maybe some animals like birds, a lion, a rabbit and some basic animals like that, maybe a snake.
Does anyone has good tutorials for that or an hint how i could start with that or which Character would be the best to start with?

I also have an blender specific question:
Is it possible to just mirror some faces, like i select them and this does not affect the whole mesh or the whole object or is that not possible?

If someone would have tutorials for Tower Creation or something like that i also would really appreciate that, thanks in advance.