Creating a simple white room with window and realistic lighting

Hey Guys,

I’m fairly new to making realistic scenes in blender and would appreciate some help trying to recreate a room similar to this.

I have no trouble with making models, but I can’t seem to achieve the lighting (nor texturing) quality of a realistic photo. If anyone could put together a scene using the photo as a reference point, that would be greatly appreciated. The ladder and figures are unnecessary, I’m looking more towards the minimalist white architecture of the room.

I’ll happily help you with graphic design or website development should you need it, in return for helping me out!

Kind Regards, Paul

Attachments

Here’s the link to the models if anyone would mess around with the lighting and textures, that would be much appreciated!
http://www.pasteall.org/blend/41350

As you can see, I’m not having much luck:

Attachments

I had a quick look at the file, but you have the following problems:

• The mesh around the door is a bit wrong (bottom left corner of the left door)
  • the mesh is a bit dodgy, with lots of double vertices, tris and polygons.

The question is what are you going for?

If you want realism, then you have to have good modelling (UV unwrapped properly) and all the little details that make it ‘real’. For materials, have a look at chocofur who has some nice ones for cycles.

If you need help modelling this (since you only mentioned lighting and materials), just PM me and I can help

Although I have used blender before, I’ve only dealt with the Low-Poly style and diffuse lighting so as you can imagine, there’s quite a lot of depth that I’ve missed out on. (Check out the attached “StoneHenge”)