Creating miniature characters (modeling in Blender and 3D printing)

Hi all

this is a general question about modeling and posing miniature characters which I would like to then have 3D printed using a commercial service.

For example check out this slideshow on BBC website:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p02xvj6k/p02xvj0w

Anybody doing something like this? Is it like normal character modeling or is the process somehow different? e.g. is it low poly modeling or are extra steps required.

I am assuming that it can be quite basic because the models will be quite small so i won’t need to do intricate details. Is this right?

I am just getting started with Blender (did two basic courses on lynda.com) and character modeling is next.

Also, any tips on 3D printing Blender models? I know a bit about doing it from Photoshop CC but can I do this some other way.

I’m still a beginner so sorry if this is all sounding a bit vague.

Any help would be much appreciated

thanks
David

The obejcts can be just as high detail as large models, that is not the important thing (a cube can be made from 6 faces or 6000 faces but it will look and print the same). The important thing is the capability of the 3d printer. What is the minimum resolution, what is the minimum wall thickness.

There’s an addon that can help you with 3d printing, http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Extensions:2.6/Py/Scripts/Modeling/PrintToolbox
If you search for 3d print in the addons list you can find it there. There’s also the Mesh Analysis tools in edit mode in the n-panel.

Here’s an indepth guide: http://www.sculpteo.com/en/tutorial/prepare-your-model-3d-printing-blender/