creating motorcycle parts from 2d drawings

Hi,
I have a parts book that contains exploded drawings of the parts in my motorcycle. Is it possible to import a scanned image of a drawing into Blender and create a 3d version of each part by tracing? The parts in the drawings are all in perspective view, so I don’t know if this makes it more difficult? Tutorials I’ve seen up to now have all used drawings that use front,side and plan views.
Can anyone point me to a tutorial (motorcycle specific if possible) or give me some ideas I can pursue?
Thanks.

David.

P.S I’m new to blender and modelling but would like to use a real project like this to learn more about blender.

yes if you can scan a complicated part then i guess it is worth to scan and import picture as background in blender then you can draw it with some tools in blender

don’t forget to use mirror if there are any axis of symetry in model
that will save you time!

also if part are rounded then you could use the subsurf

but show us the part you have scaned and then begin and show pic here and ask questions about specific things for the model your doing

now for simpler parts it is probably easier to draw it directly in blender no scan needed here

good luck

Hi,
I’m thinking of something like this to start with

If I can do that I would be very pleased with myself.

David

I don’t think you would benefit much from using that image as a background in blender. If I were to model those objects, I’d simply use the image as a reference (as in I’d look at it every once in a while) and try to get the proportions right. The object is fairly simple, so you shouldn’t have too much problems with it

Would it be easier to model the whole motorcycle from photographs to begin with? I can take photo’s of the front,rear and side but not from the top (as I can’t fly). I think this would be more realistic and achievable than modelling each part.