Crepe Myrtle

Hey everyone… I’m new to Blender and animation in general. (About a month or two of exp.)

I’m working on doing several plants for the landscaping company I work for… cutting grass for a living just isn’t cutting it. . So I decided to try and start with the crepe myrtle seeing how is the most complex of plants we use.
FotorCreated

I started with the tree base (not shown)
and then jumped to the really small flowers for the flower clusters. (See reply)

The first flower petal I sculpted…

I tried using a more procedural displacement method to generate the rest

Will keep you posted. Feedback and criticism welcome.

2 Likes

More ref.
https://www.google.com/search?q=bunga+kertas&prmd=ivn&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjrqsOk1qPcAhXLe30KHVZCBvcQ_AUIESgB&biw=800&bih=1280

Thank you. Unfortunately - that is not the same plant I am making. Fortunately, I have probably 40-50 pictures on my computer, both from the intetnet and I take pictures of.them at work all the time too.

Fortunately - the flowers are so small in real life that the accuracy of detail on the petals is a minor detail.

I’ll definitely keep you all posted and really appreciate the effort.

1 Like

I’ve really been taking my time with this project as the plant uses a variety of sizes of limbs, leafing and branching systems, flower groups and petals… etc.

I modified the materials to add some cool lighting fx to the petals on the flowers… hopefully it works out in the end.

I lost a lot of depth in shape by using displacement rather than sculpting, but considering that the flowers are about the size of a thumb nail in real life… . Well, we’ll see how it turns out. Here’s the updated petals for now.

I also started building the base of a flower and applied a random texture for the first node. Will tinker with it more as I go.

Here are some references snaps so you can see where I’m going with this.