Criteria to judge the degree of photorealism of an image rendered by Blender

Hello,

Maybe I am in the wrong section. I apologise for that.

I am a PhD student and I am working with Blender for my thesis project. I would like to know what criteria are used to determine if a render is photorealistic or not.

I ask this because in my thesis project we want to create a scene with different levels of photorealism. What I mean by this is a scene that looks more or less like a picture.

I know that there are photorealistic rendering competitions. Do you know the criteria used to judge them?

Thank you for your answer.

I’m not sure if there can be a definitive ordered list of things that are more or less important in order to achieve photo realism. With cgi you control every aspect of an image and everything contributes to the realism of the end result (good or bad). The importance of each feature heavily depends on the content of your scene. (e.g. a photo of a white wall will be hard to distinguish from a white cgi image. A complex jungle scene, on the other hand, with lots of plants, animals and humans will contain more hints whether or not it is real. And it will be a lot easier to fool viewers with random cgi stones than human faces.)

Maybe you can start with creating a list of aspects of rendered images and think of each of those as a scale with increasing realism.

• rough/simplified shapes => high details / accuracy
  • overly clean/artificial => random/natural
  • simple lighting => complex lighting
  • flat colors => complex materials (e.g fresnel, subsurface scattering,…)
  • simple/no shadows => complex shadows (colors/precision/hard+soft)
  • simple/no transparency => refraction and caustics
  • simple/no reflections => variable roughness, caustics,…
  • technical look => taking into account human visual perception (color management, …)
  • raw render results => camera/lens/film artifacts (grain, lens flares, lens distortion, chromatic aberration, DoF,…)