Custom CollectionProperty different from builtin collections?

Hi,

It has been a year since I started learning python scripting for Blender. Recently I’ve noticed that the builtin collections such as data.objects, scene.objects, and many more are different from the ones we create with CollectionProperty. Maybe they are entirely different data structures, but I think there must be a way to manually add similarly functionality to our own properties. For example,

bpy.types.Object.my_coll = bpy.props.CollectionProperty(type=bpy.types.PropertyGroup)

creates a simple collection property (PropertyGrpup directly used here for simplicity, but subclassing it makes no difference). It lacks “active” subproperty (for example I want to keep track of active item in the collection), a “new” method, etc. Of course I can use following workarounds for them:

• Use other integer property to keep track of active item
bpy.types.Object.my_coll_active = bpy.types.IntProperty()

We could use it with template_list, for example. But my_coll.active would be much more intuitive than having 2 different properties.

• Use add() method to add new items instead of new(). But add() lacks arguments that we need to explicitly set which becomes cumbersome if the item type has update() callback set

class MyItemType(bpy.types.PropertyGroup):
    prop1 = bpy.props.StringProperty(update=prop12_combined_update)
    prop2 = bpy.props.IntProperty(update=prop12_combined_update)

bpy.types.Object.my_items_coll = bpy.props.CollectionProperty(type=MyItemType)

…and later…

newitem = bpy.context.object.my_items_coll.add()
newitem.prop1 = "blah blah"
newitem.prop2 = 42

So here, the prop12_combined_update() is called twice, which is bad if prop12_combined_update() is time-consuming. I think with new() it could be prevented (callback isn’t called, but we could manually call it later)