Dedicated Blender Setup - Ubuntu?

I am a Mac user. I was a long-time Windows tech (MCSE, HP ASE) but I moved to Mac a decade ago. I love the Mac, but Apple have dropped support for their high-end users so I find myself thinking about an ideal dedicated environment for Blender - I will continue to use a Mac notebook for everything else. So, assuming you would use the fastest processors, max memory and fastest drives, what would you use for graphics card, and what operating system would you use? (don’t say Windows…) I found an old post from someone in the UK who had built a stripped down Ubuntu/Blender environment, but other users complain on the forums that BF discourages Ubuntu and the release levels are always some way behind.

But does Ubuntu reliably support the latest graphics cards, HDD controllers and motherboards?

When I first used Blender in 2009 it ran very fast on a notebook - today, with all the additional functionality it seems Blender is now demanding enough to work the best hardware hard!

So, do you have any suggestions for the absolute optimum Blender implementation?

If you search around, you will find that many linux users here use Ubuntu as well as other distros. In terms of Linux support, I think the drivers for Nvidia are possible, just take a bit of wrangling to get them and get your card working in Cycles. I am looking at OpenSuse right now, as I already tried Ubuntu but still haven’t made up my mind.

As far as releases from BF - in linux, best is to just download the compressed file and unpack to your desired location and run from there.

You need a good i7 CPU about 16 GB of RAM and for Cycles a good GPU GTX660Ti 2GB or higher.
But read on other forums for production and animation rendering on GPU some take something like this:

PSU Silverstone Strider 1500W
Processor 2X Xeons E5-2660 2.20GHZ 8C-16T
Raid 1 boot 2 X Intel SSD 120GB
Raid 0 data 2 X Intel SSD 240GB
Ram 32GB ECC Kingston ddr3 1600
Motherboard Asus Z9-PE D8 WS