Digital Ecorché project

Hi! This is my first time around here, I have to admit that I am not really a sculptor but a 2-D guy doing everything in drawing and painting basically. That said I apologize for my crude attempt here. This is a project I have been working on and off for over a year now and maybe it’s interesting for some people. Also might be fun to share some knowledge :smiley:

The premise of me using Blender was mainly to learn and study anatomy, doing a 3-D sculpture of a guy in anatomical position only depicting the bones & the muscles. Here is a pic of what such an exercise looked like when I was still in school, made in clay:

Now I started to do the thing in Blender, not having a lot of prior modelling knowledge (I knew a bit about pushing vertices around and extrusion and stuff, but not really). So I made up a simple version of a skeleton

Already works well with setting up poses etc :slight_smile:

cool models ( clay and polygon ) ! I am also a somewhat traditional artist, and find blender useful in setting up poses, perspective, etc.

You should keep it up cause that background knowledge comes in super handy

you can use the 2d skills after you unwrap :smiley:

you can draw a lot of detail in after the modeling is done.

Normal mapping is very powerful

Wow thank you for the warm welcome :slight_smile:

@Modron: Thank you! Yeah, after doing and learning perspective from scratch I use Blender for the setting up of geometry now. I do think that you need to have the fundamental knowledge first to control it properly though. Just so that you can sketch out compositions properly on paper first, also there is small things like that the center point of the camera doesn’t have to be and traditionally actually never is the center of the image, but cameras have this as the standard and so does Blender. Gotta know your basics :slight_smile:

@Daniel Powell: Thanks man! I hope so, can only go up from here, right?