Drink Beer

This is my first try on doing some photorealism.
Okay, its not ready, that´s why I´m here.
It is rendered with Blenders Internal Raytracer.
Bottles will get labels in future, also the wood needs some more effects.
I like the models, they are pretty much exactly austrian beerbottles, caps and beeropener.
What I am not happy with are the beerbottles itself, the color is quite fine, but they not really glossy like glass, more like plastic, I have tried a lot, if somebody has some good glossy glas settings I would appreciate that…
The shadows are still to sharp and the shadow of the glass is to less (some hints how to correct it would also be nice;) (lots of questions…)

And of course all comments…

I tried yafray, it works quite well without GI, but there I can stick to Blender.
If I am using GI or Photonlamps etc. even a small render takes hours, so my 2Ghz/256 Ram Machine is not the best.

Edit:
I updated the pic (29.9.)

Attachments

Some ideas to try…

Increase the hardness of your specular reflection to tighten up the highlight.

If you’re using ray-traced transparency, set the IOR to about 1.5, which is the index of refraction of actual glass.

Put a low energy spot-light in the rear bottle pointing toward the shadow on the back wall, which will give the illusion of caustics coming from your main light source through the bottle.

when dealing with any glass or chrome material, you need to use yafray. Honestly, if you used yafray on this image it would make it 100% better. if you would like, supply the blend file, and i’ll render it in yafray and show you the difference.

For an easily controllable shadow, try this:

1. Add your primary light sources.
  2. Duplicate your primary light sources, and place them exactly over your original lights. (Shfit + D, then right click, I think.)
  3. Turn off shadows on the light duplicates.