Duplivert Texture Issues

Hi everyone, im pretty new to blender so im picking it up as i go along. For this reason i apologise for what may be a vague description of the problem at hand.

So basically ive created this so far:

The area of concern is in the roof. I created a single roof tile and dupliverted it over a grid (32x12) to get me a decent area of cover. I made the dupliverts ‘real’ and positioned them in the green area shown below.

From here i copied regions of the tiles to fill out the rest of the roof. For instance i copied the bottom 3 rows of the original tiles and pasted them below it. (White area)

Now i want to select individual tiles for texture, how ever when i select only 1 tile in a certain ‘area’ the whole lot changes as well.

I do know that the green area are all ‘ME: Circle 28’ and have different ‘OB: ###’ names and the white area ‘ME: Circle 27’ with different ‘OB: ###’ names. So they’re behaving in areas as the same mesh but with different individual objects.

How do i separate the meshes so i can texture individual tiles?

I hope this was a clear enough question. I suppose i could start again, i think it is the assigning and use of material before i dupliverted that threw me off. Any ideas?

Go into edit mode, select everything and press P, and select ‘by loose parts’
Hope it helped

Hey Tomrebel2,

I had tried that beforehand and this is the result of doing so.

It might be worth mentioning that when i created the first tile i split the faces to give me sharp edges, hence the material has 4 indices. (top of tile, underside of tile, bottom 2 faces and rounded ends) Would this have anything to do with the problems at hand?

Back up to a previous version and link the material to the Object instead of the Mesh (OB/ME buttons)… http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Materials/Options. You can then still use DupliVerts.

Hey Secundar, ill try that out. Thanks.