Edit Mode showing different to Object Mode after vertex manipulation

Hello all,

Sorry if this has been answered before, the only solution I have seen on google is about Shape keys, which I don’t think I am using (I don’t see any Shape keys in the drop down).

I am using blender v 2.71 on Windows7.

Here is what I do, 100% repro rate:

• Create a simple mesh, a cube is fine
  • Go to edit mode, grab a vertex and move it around (just grab one and move up it a few hundred px)

Now, flip between object mode and edit mode (tab-tab-tab-tab) and they are different! This is my first time outside of a handful of tutorials trying to use blender and this is very perplexing.

When I come to render out, it’s not showing my edited version, it’s showing the Object Mode version; I feel as though I am missing some kind of ‘apply’ in Edit Mode.

This happens with or without a modifier applied.

Can anyone help me understand what is going on here? Any comments are greatly appreciated. Below are some sample images, I have circled the most obvious.

EditMode:

ObjectMode:

RenderOut:

Cheers,
nixius

I have just tried this in 2.60 and it does not occur. It occurs in 2.70, 2.70a, and 2.71.

Does anyone know if this was intentional? I may just use 2.60 for now, as I am trying to model some simple stuff by moving vertices and it’s just not possible for me in 2.7 for some reason.

nixius

Backface culling and face normals ?

It looks like the system doesn’t know how to properly create that face since it is a non-planar surface. SO when you switch to object mode it triangulates the faces and thats what you end up with. The solution would be to add an edge going from the vertex you drug to the opposite rear corner, and making the faces wrap around that edge instead of the awkward angle you have there.

Thank you for your replies, I Don’t think I have fully understood what you both have said however, I think I have understood enough to fix the ‘problem’.