Efficient workflow in composite?

Hi folks,

I’m really new to compositing in Blender so it could be I’m about to say some stuff that makes no sense whatsover!:

As i understand it, if you want to bring an object into it’s own render layer in composite, you need to do the following steps.

Firstly, put all object that don’t need to have their own render layers into the same collection.

Next, for every object that needs to be in it’s own render layer:

Create a collection and put that object inside it.

Create view layer.
Right click on all collections that you DON’T want to see in a render layer, then: > view layer > disable from view layer.

Now you can create render layers in composite, then choose whichever view layer you want to see in that render layer.

SURELY it cant be like this? There must be a better or more efficient way? The more objects you need to isolate in a render layer, it becomes exponentially more work it is to set this up.

PLEASE, any words of wisdom would be very welcome, and i’m totally open to the possibility that i’ve got this all wrong!

You rarely need a unique view layer for per object adjustment. Instead, use cryptomatte.

View layers are most suited to large separation like foreground/background, isolating ‘hero’ objects, or special situations where you need otherwise obscured pixels.

1 Like

Alrighty!

Crytomatte?! Never heard of it, will look into that.

Just in case, for any young players stumbling into this thread:

There’s a quicker way to get objects into their own view layer:

First you need to put an object inside it’s own collection, then:
Click the “add view layer” button (top right in the outliner) and choose :blank.
Now you have a view layer with everything disabled. Now you can select the object you want isolated and press alt + E …