err i know it sux :) help please

hi guys this is my first attempt at making a gun and i need some critic on adding detail and such this isnt a render but a bunch of screenys pasted together tell me what u think guys be kind lol

first u should probably post a picture :stuck_out_tongue:

haha yh my pc died in the process :slight_smile:

pic added thanx guys

its not bad

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=119414&highlight=gun+tutorial i made this tutorial a while ago, so if you get stuck, you might be able to use it.

Firstly - edgesplit modifier. That will calculate which edges need to be sharp and which need to be smooth.
Secondly - textures/materials. A decent UV map texture will give it lots of realism.
Thirdly - “be kind” and “help please” rarely fit together XP. But it’s a good start - it definitely doesn’t suck, it just needs work. Which means it’s in the right forum.

Good luck.

thanx guys although now would probably be a good time to tell u that i didnt use blender to make it
i used wings 3d and plan on adding the details etc with blender i can do most things in blender rigging etc but i just cant get used to the modeling process :confused: thanks for the tutorial too its greatly appreciated my next question is will a file imported from wings in wavefront format cause me any problems when it comes to adding textures etc thanks again guys

I doubt it will cause any issues. As long as the mesh is clean, texturing should go well.

I thought it wasn’t blender, I almost said something about the n-gons I was seeing, but I decided to wait and see if it would come out on it’s own. I have no idea how blender handles n-gons on an import though. looks nice by the way.