Extruding & then some?

hello, I’m following along with this tutorial but came across a problem when I extrude the same way he does I do not get this extra set of planes I have tried various things and since I don’t know what it’s called it’s difficult to look it up bellow I have attached photo of what I am talking about please help. If anyone knows the name of what I should look up or what my problem is please comment, thank you.

Hi there. I saw your post earlier, I don’t know if I can help you, I am not an expert and new at Blender myself. Remember you can extrude in vertex mode, edge mode or face mode. He must have been in face mode to get planes. It seems you have vertices, not faces (or planes). If you select your vertices together and hit F you will create a face or a ‘‘plane’’. I don’t know if this is of any use to you. Hope you can solve this problem and move forward. :+1:

1 Like

Welcome to BA!

You’ve selected a loop of vertices and are pointing at some of them with an arrow, and unfortunately that means nothing to me. I don’t even understand what that part is supposed to be, it doesn’t seem to fit the model.

It would be good if you’d show us a screen shot (and link to the tutorial with time stamp while you’re still under new user restrictions) of what it is supposed to look like.

I’m just guessing:

The way some people model cars is that they extrude lines of vertices first to outline major features of the car, and then they fill in between those lines with faces (what you call planes, I think). Usually that’s much quicker if the F2 add-on is enabled, then you just have to select an initial edge or two vertices, press F, and it puts a face there (if your vertices are lined up well). Then you just have to press F over and over again until you’re at the end of the line and boom, you’ve got a line of faces. It’s very fast for polygon modeling.