Eyes

what is the best way to make eyes? And please give me a good explination of how to do it, because I am VERY new to blender.

Ok, very new to Blender: try this tutorial <-- that’s a link, btw. You’ll need to know some basics about navigating around Blender, and modeling, and material shaders. But you can find that stuff in the wiki, too. If you meant cartoon eyes, there’s some ideas about using lattices in the wiki under Animation>>Lattice deformer. If you get stuck working through either (they’re not exactly noob tutorials, but creating really good eyes isn’t exactly a noob project) give us a holler here and someone will help you get unstuck.

Ok thanks. I will take a look at this. I am not THAT new, I know the basic navagation and things. But the eyes I am trying to make are not human eyes. They are for a penguin, so I guess you could say cartoon-ish. The penguin is not supposed to look real.

Then you’ll want to look at the Lattice Deformer tutorial, it mentions eyes a bit, all the way at the bottom. I think weirdhat used to have a cartoon eye tut using lattices, but he seems to have moved some of his stuff to the wiki and shut down his tutorial site. The eye they use in the Lattice deformer is just a UV sphere, with two material indices, one for the main eyeball, the other for the iris/pupil. The lattice deformer stretches it out into the cartoon shape, and lets you rotate the sphere so the eye can look around without falling out of the penguin’s head.

I looked at the first tutorial you posted, and I dont really know how to make these shapes since I am new. I dont know how to make a sphere with a hole in it, or the Iris, or are they are just made by extrudeing edges.