Fake texture mipmapping with Geometry Nodes and/or python?

Hi everyone, as the title says, could it be possible to have something like texture mip mapping (switch texture resolution) in Blender based on the camera distance?
Something similar to LODs but not for geometry but texture resolution?

If not with GN, can it be done with python? I’m not good at all with coding so any help/pointers will be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Hi @julperado,

Is this with respect to an animation that you will be rendering out or for realtime viewing in Blender?

I am not sure if it is possible to implement mipmaps the way they are done in other tools, but one way I can think of that doesn’t involve writing code is to do this using Shader Nodes. You could use the View Distance (or View Z Depth) attribute of the Camera Data node, define distance thresholds using a Math node (or Color Ramp) and use it mix textures of different resolutions. Refer to this StackExchange question for more information.

Of course, like you see in the screenshots on that question, there would be certain distances at which you would see textures of two different resolutions, but I think with some Vector Math exploration, you can workaround this. I think a similar solution might be possible with the Set Material node in Geometry Nodes, but I haven’t extensively used it.

The other possible solution I can think of involves writing some code. You could write a handler that get’s triggered every time the camera moves, use it to dynamically calculate the distance of each object (or a terrain tile) from the camera and accordingly assign a higher or lower resolution texture to the material.

If this is an animation that will be rendered out, you could use a frame change handler so that it gets triggered every time the frame changes. Or if this is for realtime viewing you could use a depsgraph update handler so that even if you move the camera manually (without a frame change) it would still trigger an update.