Fantasy portal

Hello guys. I’m relatively new to Blender and this is the first work that I’ve put some decent amount of effort into.

I’m looking forward to your critiques since I want to improve my future projects.

4 Likes

Nice painterly style! Keep it up :+1:
Is there any specific critique you’d like? Do you have any reference you aim for?

Thanks!
Any kind of critique is welcomed. I’m curious what I could’ve done differently both from a technical and compositional standpoint in order to make my end result better.

Ok, let’s see :slight_smile:

You have a nice strong rim light around the portal indicating a light source behind to the right. It’s a good compositional technique to make the silhouette visible. The problem in this case is that the light contour is very even and straight on the left hand side. It gives the illusion that the rough hewn stone is actually very flat. Try break up this contour, more like on the right side. I think it’s a good idea, though, to keep the right side rim light contour more “broken up” than the left side since contrast is starker there.

I also believe that the light source causing the rim light should also light up the right most stone block closest to the viewer. It would at least help making it pop slightly from the dark grass, which I personally think would be good.

Unless you know of the method already, try squinting at your picture until you basically see only two colours, light and dark. Do this first on some painting/render you like, I randomly took this from the internet: