FFVII : AC Buster Sword (6pc)

I made a model of the orginal Buster Sword and decided to take a stab at the complex remake version… It’s hard finding good references… but this is what I have so far. I’m still a noob in training but I think i’m getting better. :yes:

Attachments

Here’s an update… I’m going to be working on the textures now. And some minor details. I also uploaded a wire shot

Attachments

That’s pretty cool. I’ve never played FFVII, though… only VIII and X.
Can’t wait to see it textured.

Nice. Very clean wireframes too :slight_smile:

Nice, wires look a little heavier than they need to be though. There’s a lot of loops you can do without that won’t make one bit of difference to the model.

Here’s a render of the sword put together… (obviously) After a few minor adjustments, everything fit right into place. :cool:

The extra lines are probably because I used sub-surfs. So the cage looks like that in wire-view

Attachments

why would you use subsurf on a model that’s so mechanical in nature and lends itself perfectly for that style of modelling? If this one has a subsurf modifier, then you certainly set your creases well, but this model does NOT need one, the renders don’t really show it either. You have NO need for subsurf in this kind of model. It’s just a waste of polys.

Look at the model again…
Every handle… would look like a Cylinder if I wouldn’t have been able to adjust the crease…
Also, the blade with the curve at the bottom of the handle… That would also be square-ish without the ability to adjust the creases. And look at all the holes… I tried to NOT use subsurfs and the holes were also cylinder shaped.
This model came out well even though I did use Subsurfs, so don’t bash me for subsurfing it.

isnt it supposed to look “square” -ish?

oooh look, an in-joke :smiley:

lol, yeah. I guess it should :stuck_out_tongue:

And only a FF fan would know… SQUARE = company that started the series, now known as Square Enix