First animation using the CG Cookie Rig

Hi,

This is my first attempt at animation, for which I used the CG Cookie flex rig. It’s based on the idea of a lecturer being asked a question, and being embarrassed that he doesn’t know the answer.

I would really appreciate some feedback - don’t worry, please be constructively harsh!

Also, many thanks to Jonathan Williamson and all those at CG Cookie for this amazing teaching tool!

Thanks,

Tom

Hi Tom!
I think it’s alright, but have one thing i’ve learned through… if i can. It’s not a critique, just a tip. Ithink that it needs a bit more dynamics inbetweens. When you look at it closely, you might see the keyed poses of whole body. If you can shuffle them and make them overlay each other result will surely be much more …“human like” ore let’s say “alive”.

If you use dopesheet in animation, i can show you what i mean

If you look at the dopesheet it is not a set of poses each for one frame but they overlay each other + have different length. From my point of view this is important.

But I like it really and please do not take it as an offence or something. Just sharing what I’ve experienced.

Happy New Year and pleasant blending Tom!

Tony

Hi Tony,

Thanks for replying :)!

For inbetween dynamics, do you mean using the NLA with different action strips to create a layering of animation? I’ve added some blinking and breathing like that; here’s the screenshot:

Thanks for your help!

Tom

I know the tutorial says that either FK/IK for the arm is OK – but – generally only use FK when the arm is placed on something solid – your arm motions in this are very unnatural because there are no arcs

:slight_smile: I draw a picture of that

That blinking and breathing is really good, actually what i want to say is basicaly make it more messy. Put some chaos into that. Not to key a pose of a whole character, move 10 frames forward pose it etc… But make it asynchonous, make long arm swing and short… chew :slight_smile: for example.