first attempt at face/head critism is needed

Hey guys, this is my first attempt at a face. I think the topology is horrible cause I can never seem to get this looking smooth without subsurf (this is supposed to be an in-game model), but I added a pic with it subsurfed.

The face parts of the head you see, adds up to about around 624 verts. I’ll upload the file, but I really would like some help on what I can do to make this look better or smoother without subsurf. Hint, I’m still a noob, so I don’t know of any techniques to make this smooth without adding 1000+ more verts to it by subsurf. (already set smooth in pics).

Attachments

face.blend (237 KB)

Maybe you should work with “set solid” so you can see better if the edge flow works.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/9738/capturervvx.jpg
Eyes seems too small if you aim for a realistic face.

If it is real time delete some edges loops around the eyes and mouth, and dont bother with the inside of the nose, you can texture it later.

Think of what feature is more relevant to be put in the mesh or texture.

That wuld be what i would try to do :slight_smile:

I can’t be sure as I didn’t do that myself yet (right now working on a face too, but not one for a game^^) but I guess, it would be simpler to do a highpoly mesh with nice forms and use the retopo-function to make it lowpoly. That’s probably less work and even faster than doing a quick good looking lowpoly directly… Also, by baking, you can easily make the lowpoly look great via normalmapping from the highpoly reference :slight_smile:

select bumpy vert > w >smooth, this will really improve it.
good job anyway!
here is a fix .blend

Attachments

face.blend (238 KB)