First Blender Kitchen Interior (Cycles)

I started using blender a month ago with a goal to render my (real personal) kitchen layout for a work project. (EDIT: To clarify, I’m trying to show what the kitchen would look like after a hoped for remodel not it’s current cabinets and such.) I have no previous 3D experience so this has been a large learning curve for me. Rather than doing a bunch of tutorials, I jumped into this project and watched items to help me learn what I wanted to do. I got this far and I am feeling a bit stuck. My goal is photo realism, not necessarily artistic beauty. What can I do to make this more real looking? Thanks for any advice.

2 Likes

Hi there.

First off, impressive render, I like the feel it gives off.

However, there are some things that I’d improve if I were doing this project myself.

• Some of the materials could need some surface imperfections, which are really easy to add.
  • There’s a little too much density within the countertop, you might want to distribute the objects a little more evenly (e.g. move the plant next to the microwave over to the table)
  • The handles for the cabinets are a little too sharp, I’d bevel them or add a subsurf modifier.
  • The cabinets have the same problem as well; you can bevel them as well and give them a custom profile to make them look good.

Hope this helps.

I will give these things a try. I had added bevels to most of the edges, but I realize now I definitely missed the cabinets themselves. I had only done the doors. The table and fridge could definitely use some less perfect finish as well. Thanks!

No problem, glad to help out!

Are your cabinets really that white? I would check your own kitchen and see, because I have a high gloss white cabinet kitchen and what we think of as white is really not stark white.

Also the appliances don’t read as having brushed stainless steel. Was that intentional? If not, try playing with the anisotropy (sp?).