First female head mesh

Hi Everyone

This is my first thread and my first complete female head mesh. I wanted to keep the mesh as simple as possible while still maintaining a reasonable level of anatomical accuracy. I’d appreciate your comments and recommendations regarding the topology and anatomy.

I’m still very new to Blender and have no artistic background, so I thought I could learn a lot by modelling a head. Once I have a decent mesh I’ll move on to sculpting, texturing and adding hair. The final product is still a long way off though, since I don’t yet know how to do any of these (and I have very little time to spend on this new-found hobby).

It should be noted that this is not my first attempt at a face/head, but this is the first complete head. I started over from scratch quite a few times (typically when the face started to remind me of Gollum…).

Cheers!

Jesus, mad props man.

how long did you work on this? it looks awesome, excellent topology, great facial structure.

Absolutely awesome!

you’ve gotta be kidding me when you say you have no artistic background, and if you don’t you must have had a kick ass reference.

Hi digitalwolf333. Thanks for the compliments!

This did not happen in a day, and it almost didn’t happen at all. It started way back in February with Jonathan Williamson’s old “Adrianna” tutorial (which covers only the face). I’ve been working on and off ever since then, starting over from scratch several times. At one point I completely gave up and didn’t open Blender for three months. However, at the end of last month I started again and I knew that if I didn’t finish this mesh I’d probably quit for good. Anyway I finished it, at least to the point where I am fairly happy with it.