First Show Worthy LF Render

Hi gang. Well once again, a huge thanks to eeshlo for this great script.

Here is a necklace & ruby that I made. All materuals are direct export from blender. No tweaks or MATSpider settings at all. I know the gold is way too shiny, but I am not going to go back and render it again for 3 hours.

Anyway, here it is:

http://mysite.iptic.com/bgdm/lfruby.jpg

Caustics and radiosity were set to “ON” and I used a world light. Let me know whatyou think. I am still learning the materials and such, so I only hope to improve.

BgDM

i can only say one thing: can you or ANYone write a tutorial on how to render in Lightflow? i mean from to p to bottom, materials, lights, etc. I think us noods need it to make better pictures and relax your weary eyes when we publis a WIP or finished project…damn, got poetic again…

Well, to write a tutorial would be a big time consumer. Eeshlo has made all the necessary points in his docs in the new script package. I would suggest you read through those. He has explained the materials and lighting very well in those docs.

Also, here is a link to a tute by Jon Lake http://www.jonlake.com/proj/LightflowTut/. This explains all the necessary steps you need to take to get your meshes set up properly prior to exporting.

All of these have been a great help to me thus far. I am still learning myself.

BgDM

Cool :slight_smile:

If you want a LF diamond, it’s on my site :wink:

Inside the ruby there is granulosity… might try rising photon count and photon clustering.

Gems aren’t easy… I hope you got the right IOR for ruby, there is a list of IOR I posted here some time ago…

Furthermore, to be really shiny gems must be cut very smartly. THe angles between faces must have a given value, so to maximize refraction and light return.

Sadly even LightFlow is inadequate for one really cool phisical phenomena:

IOR is a Function of Frequency!!!