First Work. A Go-Ban. (Updated).

I already posted it yesterday in “works in progress”. This is my first model with blender. (See https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27806 )

This is the final result:

http://anagrama.net/marcos/goban_final.jpg

Model info:

• Modelling time: 4 hours.
  • Rendering time: 1.2 hours (800x600, OSA 8) in a PIII, 1Gz.
  • Rendering options: AO (Default sets) + Raytracing.

C&C Welcome (please just remember is my first model ! :smiley:

Thanks to all of you for your comments & critics.

I have produced another (and final)render with Yafray (render time 2 hours in 1200x1024).

http://anagrama.net/marcos/goban_final_yf_sm.jpg

As promised the model is here (Warning 3Mbs zipped / 6mbs blender). I know the model is pretty large for such a “simple” result but don’t forget I am a newbie with render. (meshes are not optimized in sizeso every stone has the same detailed - just copied ).

http://anagrama.net/marcos/goban.zip

Now I am moving on to my second model (this time will be a bridge). I´ll post it as soon as I have some decent results.

Although I don’t know wheter this is the appropiate place. I would like to share some comments after this first model in Blender/Yafray.

• Blender:

• The modeller is excellent, despite the fame pretty intuitive and easy to use after few minutes (the book which I purchased as well is extremely helpful, defenitely a “must” for a begginer".

• The renderer is pretty fast in scanline mode, but I find it veeery slow in raytracing and radiosity algorigthms, I know this features are pretty new so I hope a lot of improvement coming up in following bersion.