Fluid simulation

Hey guys, I’m very new to all this but I’m having a ball playing around with blender. I was trying to learn something about fluid simulation and I am having a hard time trying to get things to work. Can someone help me out with the inflow option. How could I get something like a tap happening? or a river, waterfall, that kind of thing. Any tips on how to make fizzy liquids? Also, while I’m picking your brains :slight_smile: could someone point me towards some good face and body tutorials? Thanks a ton!

OK, you want a tap running?

Firstly, start with the default scene - the cube, camera and lamp in the starting positions. Don’t worry too much about the lamp, you won’t really need it in my example.

1. Switch to front view by pressing the 1 on the numpad.

2. Scale the cube so it’s bigger and more space for us to work with. Not too large, just about 2 squares (blender units) out in all direction.

3. Go to your physics panels by pressing the F7 button. (If you’re using blender 2.40, you have to press it twice and it’ll bring you to the physics button).

4. Click on the Fluid Simulations Tab and click on “Enable”.

5. This cube is going to be our domain where all the fluid will move in. Think of it as a fish tank, the water moving inside this tank does not get pass the glass barrier. So click on “Domain” and leave all the options as it is.

6. Deselect everything now by pressing the “A” key on your keyboard.

7. Go into top view and add a cylinder (you can experiment with different mesh later if you want). The cylinder will look fine once the liquid starts flowing. Accept the popup menu asking for number of vertices.

8. Go back to front view and exit edit mode. Scale the cylinder down.

9. Move the cylinder up a bit but not pass the cube boundary and set it there. When you move the cylinder up, you might want to constrain it to the Z-axis by pressing G (for grab/move) and then pressing Z (for Z-axis constrain).