FPS/TPS I have been thinking.

I am working on some models of people and guns. I was wondering…do you think it would be possible to make a custom weapon system? I have figured out that i would have to use empties and layers with some parenting. For instance if i Press Q default weapon handle changes and if i press E the default barrel changes. Do you think with proper tweaking and working out little details this could be used? Or should i just go UberBasic as i am a novice at this?

Yes, that’s pretty straight forward. Be sure to place the center of the empty at the center of where the new object will be added. I might play with this for fun.

yeah its been buggin me since i played amry of two. Though I can make vast improvements such as pistols with custom barels etc…not sure yet though…And only problem now is different guns have different lengths and such… maybe do different set for each type or something…hmmm I also had thought about this for custom characters as well. But i dont think blender and handle that as of yet…I dont use the latest blender due to not liking the interface as of yet.

I did have a moving character done but the character moves ackwardly and seems all its axis is wrong or something…i would also need to figure out how to parent the weapon to the character…oh the decisions and things to work out… I finally got back into 3d I used max and maya infact i have both installed but the interface has to much going on at once for my taste. Though i know its good for doing enviroments and other little stuff. Frankly Im glad for blender3d its 3d for the people. By the way Med i was going to use a Scene Overlay for the customize system. only problem will come in at saving such a customization for later use. Eh i will find other people to help me work out the details later lol. My brain always is working on things. I will keep you posted on my progress.