Fresnel weirdness

Hi. I’ve moved to Blender from C4D and am getting weird results from KB3D materials with a Fresnel node in them (not sure if this is due to KB3D or Blender). With C4D, the Fresnel effect is (and should be) a gradient which changes with the angle of incidence. But with kits like Minerva and Arch Vogue, the glass behaves improperly. The image shows how increasing the Fresnel value changes the reflection value as a solid edge across the glass rather than a gradient. Is Blender’s Fresnel just broken?

Add images

Try the “Layer Weight” node instead. (It’s under “Input”) It has two outputs for this kind of use. Also, always place a color ramp or map range node after to tweak.

Does that help ?

Also, is this full viewport shading or the “preview”(Workbench)?

1 Like

That’s the view from the Shading tab set to Viewport Shading (GPU). It seems to me that the Fresnel node isn’t really doing a very good job if you have to add other nodes to make it work! I’m new to all this – do you have an image of a good Fresnel node setup to make it work properly, using Layer Weight and a ramp? Thanks!

Well, it depends on what Engine you’re using.

Some of the nodes don’t work in EEVEE yet.

Always remember, it’s doing a pretty good job for being free :smiley:

These settings in the Material tab are obviously needed to display something transparent in EEVEE.

I got it working in EEVEE with the “Facing” output of the layer weight instead of fresnel. Plugged it into the roughness of the glossy with a second ramp to make it glossier the steeper the angle towards the camera.

This sells most of the effect and is waaay cheaper, computation-wise.

I think the fresnel Node itself doesn’t work because it traces actual rays and therefore has to run in cycles but then again i don’t really know.

1 Like