Game Model Optimization: Deleting Hidden Faces

Hello!

I’ve not gone to school officially for CG/3D, and am self taught (I assume like the majority of us). Because of this, certain ‘industry standard techniques’ are probably not implemented…

One thing I’ve always wondered…

I know that when creating models for gaming, you want to remove all non-essential geometry…to save on both memory and UV space…however, that being said, how many of YOU actually go through every bit of mesh and remove all hidden faces?

As in this example here, would I go through and remove ever hidden face?

I will answer my own question…yes…yes I do. But a second part to my question is…is this standard…do all ‘professional’ modelers remove ALL hidden faces on ALL projects?

Thanks all!

Yes they do - almost always. Especially for models which will be cloned hundreds of times. It’s not only that we (I am game dev) remove faces that are fully invisible, we make models with as few intersections as possibe. So if only part of the face would be invisible, we would cut the mesh so only this invisible part could be deleted. Of course everything has to stay within reason. Spending unreasonable amount of time on saving few polys is plain stupid.

1 Like

On your model, you’re not even ready to remove hidden geometry. Are you doing a 1mm flyby of that house? Are there any dynamic lights you expect to approach that wall? No? Then all of those details should be texture, not mesh. The facing wall of the house should be three triangles, no more.

I’m not a game dev, but I got contracted once for some level design work, maybe 20 years ago? 25? I remember being so proud that I fit so many pipes into one scene with careful geometry. My goal, back then, was something like 500 tris max. Lotsa parallax. Mmm, pipes and crates. Such shit in hindsight.