GamePython Tutorials Needed

I am in need of some basic but well-written tutorials for the use of Python in the blender GE.

Please post a link to any good BGE-python tutorials you know of.

Thank You.

maybe I could write something new and up to date?
What do you want to know?

…anyone?

well, since you made the offer, how about a tutorial on setting up a vehicle from scratch? And perhaps explain the role of the parameters in the python command (the addWheel I think) that the makes the magic? I tried a couple of times based on the steering_fix demo of 2.42 but it went down the drain…

I’v been planning to write a few tutorials for ages, but just never got around to it. Anyway…

Basic you want, basic you get:

http://theboomshelter.com/hss.html

maybe I shouldn’t have made the offer so vague, since I’m new to python. But maybe that’s a good thing, a newbie can perhaps explain it better to another newbie. I will try to make something useful

So has no one made any decent newbie python tutorials for BGE that takes you step by step through at all?:confused:

well…
http://www.blender.org/modules/documentation/pydoc_gameengine/PyDoc-Gameengine-2.34/GameLogic-module.html
there’s the commands…
It’s just the structure and how to use variables and loops.

For example:
if you want an action to be played when an property reaches a value you would do something like:

cont = GameLogic.getCurrentController() #so we can write 'cont' instead of GameLogic.getCurrenController()
own = cont.getOwner() #so we can write own instead of cont.getOwner()

act = cont.getActuator("action") #need a link to an action logic brick called action

if (own.a > 100):
        act.setAction("jump")  #found in the game logic list of python code in link above
        GameLogic.addActiveActuator(act,1) #the way you activate an actuator
else:
        act.setAction("idle")
        GameLogic.addActiveActuator(act,1)