General WIP about everything

Just here for the thumbnail:

Original Post:
So after beeing in a pretty sweet location for a film we’re doing for work last week, I decided to model a workshop garage kinda place that’s inspired by the one we filmed at.

So this will be my first serious project and not just messing around copying tus and so on.

There’s some issues though:
I’m very new to Blender I think I know the basics of modelling but so far barely anything about the shading and texturing. But that will be a problem later on.
For now I’m not sure what would be the best approach. I need to have a little gap between the marked faces and the surrounding areas. What would be the best/easiest/smartest way to do that?

Edit: New Thumbnail

The best way would be to use a reference. You can add an image empty to the 3D viewport as a guide for modeling. Shift A then Empty. Then in the properties editor under object data set the display type to image. It is helpful to make a reference sheet first in gimp or photoshop with front, side, and three quarters perspectives on one sheet then save as a jpg. This image will not render, but will only be visible in the 3D viewport. once you have the image in there, you can move the image around in the different views so that when you view your object from the front, side etc. it is right in front of your reference.

Your topology is a bit iffy

Hope this helped.

Attachments

Scarsz What do you mean the topology is iffy? If you’re talking about the horizontal lines, those are there on purpose. You’ll see once I continue. But I actually ended up doing what you suggested. Except I deleted some faces. Because those 2 big faces will be the garage doors which I’ll hopefully animate or at least rig them so i can open them sometime.

Edit:
Played around for while with the roof because I want to put some grass and such on there and need a somewhat uneven surface. Doen’t look too appealing yet.