Generating a virtual city

Hey guys!

Here’s a small experiment with Blender Python… a script to generate a city street map.

Pic of the output:
http://blender.sixmonkeys.geek.nz/albums/MyIS/city_gen_20050721_001.png

Blend file with the script:
http://blender.sixmonkeys.geek.nz/albums/MyIS/city_gen_20050721.blend
EDIT: a blooper on my part - in the script put “#” in the beginning of the line with “import Substrate”…

My ultimate goal is to try and generate a crowded victorian London slum. In the process this should blossom into a nice content-generation tool, useful for things other than virtual cities…

Tell me what ya think!

By the way, search Google for “CityEngine” - some folks have already done this, although I don’t like some parts of their implementation.

Error no module named substrate?

Ken

Hey, thats’s a great script! Nice work!

btw. I also got the same error… now I’m a noob concerning python, but I just put an # in front of the “import Substrate” line and it worked… :stuck_out_tongue:

Keep it going MyIS, I love this and it’ll come in handy for sure!

Put an # in fornt of the subtrate line, and got a console error for random ‘module’. Pretty new to me all of this - phyton especially. Very curious about city building script, and hope to get get working soon! Good luck to us all :wink:

couldn’t you have come up with this 1month ago…could have needed it! haha…it sounds pretty good, will have a look at it for sure!

could you post the script without it being in a blend file. blender crashes when i try to open it… using 2.37a.

Edit: ok redownloaded and it worked. looks good. i’ll test run it and try to give feed back, definately interesting and useful

Thanks for the kind replies! Sorry again about that silly “Substrate” mistake… At first I tried to build a generic L-system under the whole thing, but removed it eventually - somehow that leftover “import” never came up as an error…