Geometry nodes: randomize material on each instance?

Hi folks,

Please take a look at the image below (blend file also attached).

I’m trying to randomize the material that each instance receives in geometry nodes.

Anyone have any idea on the best way to do this?

Thanks!

Random_Monkeys.blend (930.2 KB)

Hi, use set material index and plug a random integer in it

Daz_Harris

12m

Thanks man, i tried that but it does nothing, i’m probably doing it wrong.

Do i swap the “set material” for “set material index”? … or…?

And for setting each material’s index, i do that in: material properties > pass index, right?

Sorry, i’m a noob!

Make sure to limit the random value to the max number of materials you’re using (otherwise there would be too many occurrences of the last material). The problem I have is that each face gets a separate material and not the whole instance. I’d like to know if there’s a solution for this.
As a workaround you can duplicate the instances you want to use and each would use a different material. Then instead of using object instances, you would use collection instances with random object from it.

1 Like

Thanks cdog but i really don’t understand that node tree!.. but anyway, i tried to implement it in my scene but it just doesn’t work!

:sleepy:

If anyone could modify my blend file (attached to the first post) to get it working, i’d be eternally grateful!

Problem solved, i now realize you can also set the random color in the shader nodes!

Although i’m still curious why the “set material index” node doesn’t seem to do anything (see pic below and attached blend file).

I’m probably doing something wrong. I’m in Eevee and i gave each material it’s own ID in: material properties > settings > pass index.

Rand_COL.blend (833.3 KB)