Getting a new computer for CG work. Help?

I’ve been using Blender for 4 years now (I’m 17 currently). I’ve made some good artwork too. But, now I want to make an animation film, so I’ll be getting a new computer. So, that’s my dilemma: Should I get a High Specs Computer, a Workstation or a Normal PC with a Render Farm? My Budget is around $3,000-$3,500. I’m ready to extend my budget a bit more, but the system that I get should render VERY fast. Like not more than 2-3 minutes on a scene like this one (please note this scene has 1M polygons and took 1/2 hr to render on a Macbook):

Moved from “General Forums > Blender and CG Discussions” to “Support > Technical Support”

Hi, it depends on your needs and what render engine you use.
If you use Cycles and your scene fits into 6 GB VRAM take a Asus Z9PE-D8 WS and build a system around it.
You can use 4 Nvidia Titan with it or use 3 and extend with a Netstor box to get 7 Titan running.
Or use a cheaper card for display and add 3 Netstor boxes with 4 Titan each.

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Z9PED8_WS/#specifications

http://www.netstor.com.tw/_03/03_02.php?OTM=#

If you go for CPU rendering look here:

Cheers, mib.
EDIT: Try to render my benchmark file on your system, one Titan need ~58 seconds for it.
http://www.blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?303832-New-Cycles-Benchmark

Thanks for your reply mib2berlin! The thing is even I thought of building my own workstation, but blender cookie recently made a render farm walkthrough, of sorts. And they said it would be a lot faster, but I’m kinda confused on the render farm thing. And yes, I will mostly be using cycles. So should I go ahead with a workstation or a render farm? (Based on the budget and performance)