Giraffe material?

I’ve made a Giraffe material although I’m not very experienced with material nodes. I need to find a way to make the pattern rounder ?

1 Like

This is cool, and it’s impressive that you’ve made it without any Image Texture nodes. To be honest, I think your optimal roundness would come from making an alpha texture with spots and not spots and plugging that in instead of the Musgrave. If you really want to keep it procedural, you could put a second Musgrave with sightly different settings in. Mix the two Musgraves together, using one or the other of the Musgraves for mix, and you should get something with softer edges.

In other words:
---------------------MIX
Musgrave 1 > > Fac
----------------> >Slot 1
Musgrave 2 > > Slot 2

I’m not promising this will work, but it might.

1 Like

“Ummm… as for me, I think it’s damned impressive that the OP did this entirely without images!” :smiley:

And – the texture already looks “very plausible.” Could you “sell the shot™” with this? Yes, I think so.

Your enthusiasm is echoed by me, you just express it better :wink: it is truly remarkable! I agree, I don’t think you HAVE to change anything about this.

Does this helps???

3 Likes

Thanks for the replies & suggestions guys, very helpful. Secrop that’s exactly what I’m looking for. :slight_smile:

Just want to extend on this … Is there any way to get slight variation of spots color ?

I know it’s not Substance Designer but sure comes close quite frequently.

You can do this with a voronoi texture set to ‘cells’ fed through a color ramp.

1 Like

Just to adapt/complete @PyBlend’s answer to the node setup I posted, you just need to keep the same vector and the same scale as the others F[1-4] nodes.

I’m not sure what you mean. I tried with Voronoi as cells instead of Intensity but doesn’t look right.

I mean to mix my setup with PyBlend’s setup (keeping the same vector and scale to all voronoi nodes)… something like this: