Goin' 'Old school' Veritech VF-1S 'Valkirie'

:yes: Yup. It’s old school compared to some of the model choices I’ve seen posted. Lots of nice models too BTW. I’ve had some experiance with CAD (took a class in highschool) but I’m a noob as far as CG modeling (there are some diferences). It’s taken me about a month to get this far, I’m learning blender as I go and I kept having to go back and redo stuff (I’m my own worst critic), and I know there are still some areas that need fixing, transitions between the nose cone/hip turret/fusalage to name some big ones. Anyway here’s what I have so far.

Attachments

Hey that looks like a good start mate! A jet doesnt seem old school though.

It’s “old-school” because the VF-1S Valkyrie was the original “veritech” fighter in the Robotech universe (see also: SDF Macross), in the 80s version of the TV series. So it’s “old school” in that it’s from the 80s. It’s also “old school” in that the ongoing Macross universe has many newer television series/manga with newer designs. But the VF-1S is a classic – and the nose section looks great! Care to post some wires?

By Old School…do you mean the Robotech as being old school? It wasn’t that long ago! :slight_smile:

This looks great BTW, Are you going to have it in Valkirie mode?

Nice start!! I’ll be interested in where this goes.

My interest in veritechs goes way back (you could almost call it obsessive) … I thought about modeling one in blender, but couldn’t find good enough references. I did model one a long time ago… Can’t locate my drawings and references from when I did it. Haven’t been able to find a way to import that model into blender either.

I have found a couple 3dmax models on the net, and I even came across an old lightwave model of one. It’s kinda funny because yesterday I was playing with it and a b-mesh build of 2.5. The lightwave model is made of n-gons :no: and I don’t feel like converting it. If you’d like a copy for reference, pm me and I’ll set it up for you.