Going to Cycles from Eevee

Good day,

Really new at this and I hope that I’m not being too much of a bother. I started learning about 3D after Eevee was introduced in 2.8 beta, so when I first picked up Blender, I saw my very basic first steps render better and much, much faster with Eevee. Since then I never really gave Cycles a second thought.

I hear that some stuff might look better in Cycles because Eevee is based on what video games do and Cycles is something that artists past and present use for their still images or movies or what-not.

So I have this scene I’m working on, it looks okay in Eevee:

But it looks gods-awful in Cycles:

Especially the throw-rug and the fact that it looks like I loaded it up in Photoshop and ran a noise/speckle filter on it.

Is this one of those cases where, to get Cycles anywhere near as good or better than Eevee for this particular scene, I’m going to have to read a book about rendering and I’m going to have to go back, branch off, and design my scene especially for Cycles? If so, does anyone know of any good training courses or books about that, which would also work for Blender 2.8?

Are there any simple option switches I could throw to at least get rid of some of the noise?

Hi.
Sorry, but I don’t agree. Cycles result looks more physically correct. Apparently in Eevee you are not using Contact Shadows, Ambient occlusion or Soft Shadows. Apparently you are not using light probes either.

The transition between Cycles and Eevee (either way) is not immediate. It is possible that for each of them you must individually adjust the lighting (power/strength), materials and settings of each render engine.

Please, if you do not want to share the entire scene, you share the object that you consider does not look properly, with packed textures in a .blend file.

People starting to review Cycles compared to EEVEE is one of the signs of Apocalypse right?
On a serious note, I think EEVEE is a plague for learners.

1 Like