Graphicall builds on Linux: How do I get them to run?

I’d like to have a recent 2.5 build on my Ubuntu linux machine (10.04). Graphicall lets me download a build, and I downloaded several already, but for the life of me I can’t figure out what to do with them. The build comes in a tar.gz archive and inside there’s a “blender25” folder. In it there are more folders, one binary (“blender”), licenses and a readme file. The readme file says I should extract the contents of the archive, take the .blender folder and put it in my home folder, and run blender. I found the .blender folder and did as I was told but double clicking the “blender” binary didn’t do anything. I checked and it does have permissions to execute.
Is there anything I’m missing? I’m not a Linux expert so perhaps I’m missing some fundamental aspect of running things on Linux without installing them through the package manager. should I extract the rest of the archive’s contents to some specific place? run something as root? install some packages?

Hi Michael_GR.
I am using Ubuntu 10.04 too, so here is what to do:

1. Right click on the desktop and select “Create Launcher…”
  2. At the new window you will find some fields you must fill. For the Type: select “Application in Terminal”. For the Name: write something like “Blender 2.50”. For the Command: this is the important one. You must Browse to the folder you have untar the file you’ve downloaded from Graphicall and choose the blender executable. It should look something like this: “/Your/Path/ToBlenderFolder/blender”. For the Comment: Write a helpful description or leave blank.
  3. Click the newly created Launcher and Enjoy :cool:.