Grease Pencil Fill Problems after updating to 3.5

Hi,

I’ve been using Blender for a few years now and I’m not a beginner to Grease Pencil. I totally understand the concept of line thickness and gap closure. When I updated from 3.3 to 3.5 the fill tool became really difficult to use. When I take my same file back to 3.3 the fill tool works great. I know I must be missing something. What are the preferred settings for the fill tool for best results in 3.5? I’m totally stuck.

Cheers!

I am curious. Can you describe how it is different from 3.3? or provide an example file? I never had any problems with the fill bucket in the newer versions.

1 Like

Hello Ogonek,

Thanks so much for your reply. The difference that I’m experiencing is that the fill tool works as expected in 3.3 and 3.4. In 3.5 and 3.6 when I click twice to fill the shape I get the error “Unable to fill unclosed areas.” I don’t know why this is happening. Here is an example file:

Truck2.blend (1.9 MB)

Hmmm. Ok, weird. I downloaded every blender version since 3.3 in order to recreate the error. But it behaves exactly the same in every version up to 4.0 alpha. If I set simplify and gap close to 0 it even fills the little white knobble in the front.
I only get the message (unable to fill bla bla) when clicking outside the truck. I reset to factory defaults, tried it with both tablet and mouse… (I once had a driver problem with my graphic tablet where it would transmit wrong coordinates but then it wouldn’t affect only the fill tool I guess.) All fine across all blenders here.
Could it be OS related? I am currently on linux but will test it on windows tomorrow but can’t test it on mac.