Hair malfunctions

Blender is frustrating the hell out me. Weird things keep happening that I cannot explain. I’m new to Blender, but not to 3D in general.
I started out with the BlenderKitten from Blenderkit. I thought I could make some alterations to make it look like my cat Bob. It has not been so easy. I started changing the textures to Bob’s coloration yesterday. Then at some point, the fur became messed up. The cat looked like it had a case of mange.

There is definitely something buggy happening. I couldn’t find any reason for the case of mange, so I went back to a previously saved version.

Then, I started editing and things went haywire again. I started combing the fur, and suddenly all the hair fell out and went to a pile on the floor! Then, I did something, and the hair appeared to be back, but not in the render, and the whiskers, which I did not edit, moved to random places around the face for no apparent reason.

Here, you can see in this Eevee render that the hair is still there.

“Your soul will be mine!”

Here, you can see how messed up it looks.

But now, no hair at all in the render, even though I can see it in the preview window.

I tried to do some texture painting, which I had done before on another model, but this time, nothing worked, and eventually Blender crashed. Hopefully someone can give me some tips on what’s going on here. Right now, I feel like the software is gaslighting me. Makes me want to give up.
BTW, I’m using 2.82a.

Thanks in advance!

Poor little kitty! is the model currently static, or is it animated, or have you been adjusting the pose whilst you work? The hair falling out into a clump on the floor sounds like you have hair physics turned on. Have you tried turning that off?

Hair system is full of variables.
There are the ones you set in in the dozen of panels of Particles tab ; the ones you set in particle edit mode ; the ones relative to particle textures ; potential influence of force fields, vertex groups and modifiers.