Hard surface modeling question

Hi guys, Im pretty new to blender.And i have a problem on modeling a chess - rook.
so here is the my mesh:

after i applied subsurf modification, it appeared pinching on the surface.

how i can i improve the mesh so that have a nice, smooth surface?

I think I would just approach this by using a bit more geometry to help the subsurf modifier out a bit. You could somewhat compensate for the higher initial number of vertices by using a slightly lower number of subdivisions. I’d avoid adding in extra edge loops around the circumference to sharpen edges up (after the initial creation of the circle) and maybe just select certain vertices/edges and use GG to slide them a bit to sharpen things up (for example the ones with red dots in my screengrab).

Problem is caused by these faces I think. Try to get rid off those faces that has more than 4 vertices. (It’s best to work with quads and sometimes triangles)
You may do this by extending these vertices through bottom. There could be better/easier ways though.

hi John, thanks for your sharing.
I did another mesh according to your advise but I just cannot get a perfect round shape as you did.

even i scaled the subsurf mod to 4, the polygon-like shape would not disappear.

Start with a circle. To be more precise - start with a circle with a number of vertices which suit your final desired shape. I used 128 in my example.

hi filibis, i also tried your method.
it ended up like this,

you could go old school subdiv model on this but blender has such a convenient modifier system, I’d just take advantage of that. (1 simple cylinder at the same position as your model, cut out whatever shape on top, do a shrinkwrap, solidify, angle based bevel and apply them if you’re happy)

cylinder.blend (625.7 KB)

1 Like

Hey Dan, thanks for your reply, but i have some trouble by following your method.
here is my result,

i think my steps are wrong leading to this but no sure what is correct.