Hard surface modelling in Blender 2.8x: the best way to learn with or without Add ons?

Hi everybody,
I am new in Blender and just finished a basic course. Now I’m going to start a new specific course about Hard Surface Modelling but reading on YT channel, blog, forum and community, I meet so many solutions the them confused me…
Above all, I found this new course from Chipp Walters, NITROX 3D (no destructive modelling)
https://blendermarket.com/products/nitrox3d-non-destructive-modeling-course
who promises to use ANY Add Ons to obtain amazing results. If I have exactly understand in his Intro course (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Atw16f8wZ6Y&feature=emb_logo) he says, that the most famous Blender modelling Add Ons are very amazing and useful (Hard Ops, Boxcutter, Fluent, Speedflow…) but you need a “Deep, deep knowledge…”, on the contrary, if you learn how to use Modifiers well, you can get the same results without using any type of Add ons.
Also, reading on the subject, I found many people who absolutely suggest the use of some excellent Add ons (not mentioned by Chipp Walter) but who seem to be really indispensable, as Quad Remesher, Retopoflow, MESHmachine …
So, in general, what suggestions could you give me so that I can start this cycle of tutorials on the Hard Surface modelling in the best way, to start on the right foot, without wasting time learning superfluous Add ons, but also by using other absolutely “time saver” Add ons .
Many many thanks for a reply!

You might also want to check out Creative Shrimp’s hard surface with Aidy Burrows and Gleb Alexandrov.

However if you are just starting out I would learn the basis of what to do to get the result you are looking for before relying on add-ons. Add-ons are there to make the artists life easy but they are just that a tool but without any knowledge of how it works or why it works you will be lost if something comes up you can’t get looking right with the add-ons.

1 Like