Has anyone figured out how to get UVless box mapping to work with tangent space normal maps?

Hi there! I’m fairly new to Blender and am loving it so far!
I was wondering, as the thread topic implies, whether anyone has gotten correct normal map directionality using mapping types other than UV mapping. In the screenshot above you can see the issue - each projection works for laying down the normal texture, but the way the normal is being read means it looks rotated/inverted depending on the projection. I think -x, -y, -z are “backwards” and +x,+y,+z are correct.

It seems for tangent space normal maps, looking at the documentation, they intend for the texture input vector to always be UV because whatever’s happening under the hood uses the uv information to derive the normal map directionality. I was wondering if anyone has been able to re-derive the tangent basis using hack node chains or if there was some other way to get normal maps to not invert along certain projections when using box mapping. Alternatively ,as anyone found a way to apply a normal map to a model in a UVless way? I’ve tried out bump mapping and, while it fixes the inversion issue, the banding is pretty terrible so I don’t think that will work.

Any Blender gurus willing to school me on this? Thanks!

I’m not sure if it will work, but you could try triplanar mapping which is a manual setup of box mapping. With that you plug in the texture for each of the cardinal direction, which would allow you to control swizzle coordinates independently.
Make sure to use cubic interpolation and full range for 8-bit bump maps. If that’s not enough to get rid of stepping at reasonable views, make them 16-bit instead.