Has anyone seen a red metallic map?

Newbie here,I downloaded a rigged fbx and its texture folder,in folder I found three PNG files with the suffix _D, _M and _N respectively for body mesh.I guess it means diff,metallic and normal.But the _M png is red

And Using Node wrangler,I found the RGB channel of the png is red,
(image1)
and the Alpha channel is just like regular metallic map
(image2)
.When directly connecting it to principleBSDF’s metallic node,It doesn’t look correct(whether by color node or alpha node).
(image3)
(image4)
My question is:What should the RGB channel and ALPHA channel of this PNG be?

(Sorry cause I’m limited to post more image at one post)

(Sorry cause I’m limited to post more image at one post)(image 2)

(Sorry cause I’m limited to post more image at one post)(image 3)

(Sorry cause I’m limited to post more image at one post)(image 4)

We have no way of knowing- only the original texturer knows. Who did you download this FBX from? You’re going to have to ask them

Well, actually, they come from the unpacking of the unity game. The unpacker itself doesn’t know how to render correctly:\

So read the Unity manual to see what is what… Or ask in a Unity Forum. Where did you learn to do this? Thats where the info about ‘after the unpacking from the game’ should be. :man_shrugging:

Aside from that. As you have Node Wrangler active have you tried (with the Principled BDSF Node selected) using Ctrl-Shift-T to automatically set up the nodes? That opens a file browser, you find and select all the images you have been showing us, Accept, and they all get connected up. …If the naming follows standard conventions.
If you open the Node Wrangler tab in the Shader side panel you can see the above as a button - Add Principled Setup.

1 Like