Having trouble with View->Viewport Render Image in cycles

Hello everyone, I’m pretty new to Blender so this might be a really simple fix. I’m having trouble with Viewport Render Image in cycles specifically. I thought it might be some setting I changed in the .blend file I was working on but it happens in this new file also.

The image renders fine from the camera point of view, the image renders fine as “viewport render” in eevee, and I don’t have a render region set. Any ideas?

For reference, here is the setup:

Here is how cycles renders from the camera:
normal camera render cycles
Here is how eevee renders from viewport:
viewport render evee
Here is how cycles renders from viewport:
viewport render cycles

Thanks in advance for any help.

2 Likes

Oh, right, I forgot to say: I’m using Blender 2.92.0 on Windows 10.

Not sure what’s going on here but I’ve had issues like this. I would recommend trying 2.93 and 2.83 LTS as well as updating your graphics drivers and seeing if that doesn’t fix the issue.

1 Like

It does not work for cycles. It is not your system it is a limitation of the option (it would be good if it did!)

Edit: sorry I thought you meant from the view menu “Viewport Render_Image”

1 Like

One situation where this happens is if you disable your scene lights in viewport render mode:

While rendering properly, the lamp would remain activated.

You have paused the viewport rendering: see the little triange right of the viewport choice (only when in cycles)

grafik

I just checked. In my version of 2.92 I get the same results. View>Viewport Render Image while in Cycles rendered mode gives the same blank result. Lighting doesn’t matter. HDRIs don’t matter. Render not paused either. Latest Nvidia drivers. Same in 2.93 LTS and a 3.0 Cycles X build.

It’s not a feature I use very often. Is there any particular reason you need this to work with a Cycles rendered view rather than just positioning your camera and hitting F12 instead?