Help make Screensaver quit when you move the mouse.

How do you make a screensaver or exe file created with the Game engine quit when you move the mouse?

Try searching the forum.

https://blenderartists.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27937&highlight=screensaver+mouse

check your email

I have all ready tried the method that the link above points to (thoro’s method). It does not work for me. the file plays for 3 seconds and stops when the mouse is in the player window.

I also have tried to do what you have suggested PlantPerson. When I use a mouse movement sensor wired to a quit game actuator, the file stops playing as soon as it tries to start.

I am running windows 2000, I have python 20, python22 and python23 all installed on my computer. I had the PYTHON variables path set up to python20. I changed it to point to python23 and it still did not work.

Thanks for responding and I hope you will continue to try and help me with this problem. I am very new to the game engine and python.

Hmm, strange - does the executable (rename BlendSaver.scr to BlendSaver.exe) from this archive (http://www.pixelfresse.de/BlendSaver.zip) work on your system? I run Blender and this screen saver on XP machines.

Here’s my blend file, does it work in Blender on your system? http://www.pixelfresse.de/BlenderLogo_Screensaver.blend

Blender 2.35 is designed to run with Python 2.3, but I think my little script uses only built in functions, so this should not be an issue - correct me if I’m wrong.

Cheers

Thorsten

Thanks thoro. Now I know that I was doing everything right, but I still have a problem.
The Blendersaver.exe from the Blendersaver zip exits after 3 seconds without me touching anything. I also downloaded the .blend file that you posted and it quits after 3 seconds as well.
I don’t know anything about python or coding so I don’t know what it could be.