Help on Lighting: What is Making this Scene look Fake?

Good evening Blender artists :smile:

This is my first time posting here, but I need some help on a project I’ve been working on. Generally my still-life renders come out with a good degree of realism, but for this one I have a bit more complex scene than I usually do, due to the less controlled lighting.

Usually I light my still-life scenes with a sun lamp that comes through a window to the left or right of the subject, which can be offset by a couple area lamps, but in this case I am attempting to put the main lighting source behind the subject.

I know the window is very busy, but I wanted to have elements such as the rough glass, a metal shader, some normal glass with dispersion, and some organic subjects in particular.

Some ideas about why the scene lacks realism:

1. The flower models I created are not quite perfect? I have not tried to apply any sub-surface scattering effects to them, and the leaves are currently flat.

2. My materials are not quite right? Perhaps some of the elements are too glossy, such as the window sill?

3. The reinhard tonemapper has created unrealistic exposure and contrast?

4. I have chosen a 70mm focal length to flatten out subjects, however I am aware that 50mm is closer to the human eye. I also have experimented with 85-105mm focal lengths to flatten out the scene, but I am not sure which is right for this subject matter, or which will be most pleasing.

Thank you for your input!

*There are some rainbow-colored splotches on the glass that are artifacts from the Intel Denoiser. These will not appear in the final-length render!

*I tried to post a screenshot of the scene, but new users can ‘only put one image in a post.’

4 Likes

Very nice!

1. Flower model looks good, however I see some mesh intersections. First I would try to get rid of those.
    Are you using translucent shader on the leaves?