Help rotating bone in relation to spinning wheel without keyframes

Hey all!

I’ve never done rigging before and spent all of yesterday on youtube tutorials trying to understand rigging.
I’m starting to understand it but I’m stuck trying to figure out how I can simultaneously rotate and face an object differently to its rotational position.

Here’s what I’m going for:

Specifically, the joint in yellow on the left.
One end of it rotates along with the wheel, the other end of it rotates slightly slower, generally facing the middle of the wheel.

I’m trying to get that same spinning motion I’m sure I’m missing something obvious, but here’s what I have so far:

I tried adding an empty in the middle of the wheel and having the object constraint set to “track to” - it almost worked, but it kept flipping the object halfway through the rotation like this:

There’s 3 armatures in all. One for the bar going across all three wheels, one for this problematic circling object, and another for the arm it should connect to while it rotates.
I don’t want to use keyframes for this, I’m guessing there’s an easy way to do this with just the bones?

Is there a particular video anyone could point me towards that shows how to do this? Or if anyone could nudge me in the right direction here - I appreciate any help :slight_smile:

Hey, If you search this forum specifically the ‘Animation and Rigging’ part for ‘train rigs/ing’ there are some helpful posts and files. there are also posts related to specific parts/actions/rigging of it too. Not long ago some one posted about that particular action of the part that the rod is hooked to - it has an action that is hard to replicate/create. Otherwise post a file for a bit more help.