Help Unwrapping and Object

I’ve never really done an uv mapping or unwrapping of objects, and I was given a fairly complicated object that I need to unwrap and texture. Making the texture is something my friend and I can handle, but I was wondering if someone would be willing to help me out with setting up the face layout and unwrapping the object.

It was made in 3D Studio Max, but all I have and know how to use is Blender, so I was just importing it into Blender. I didn’t make the object, so if it’s not the best for unwrapping, I apologize. I don’t know what makes it easier for unwrapping, or else I would attempt to fix it a little bit.

I’m sorry to ask for someone else to do my work, and normally I would take the time to figure it out myself, it’s just I only have a couple weeks to get a full animation done, and I’m also a full time student, so if it’s too much to ask, I apologize.

Thanks in advance to anyone that can help me!

Also, if someone does end up helping me, are they going to have to post a .blend? I mean, what exactly keeps track of how the faces are unwrapped?

Anyway, here’s a link to a folder containing the file. It’s the only one in there: https://netfiles.uiuc.edu/emeyer2/www/3danimation/oldmodels/

Why the heck do you want to unwrap it in total? Separate the MB in different objects, this takes short time.

You’re probably better of without UV-Mapping, using normal mapping input methods.

Is there a way to split an object into separate meshes? Like the opposite of ctrl + j? If there is, that would be much easier. I just didn’t know it existed.

Sorry about that.

Very simple: Select the vertices you would like to seperate, press P->Selected.

It’s very simply with your mesh, because you can select linked vertices. Select one vertex of a part, press Ctrl-L. So it’s very easy to separate the parts (begin with the great plane).